SMI Radio Ep.45 On Demand: Kristen Ward / Michael McMorrow (Synergia NW) / John Maynard

We have a packed show this week. The super-talented and soulful Northwest roots rock and folk artist, Kristen Ward, is working on her highly anticipated record for 2012, “Night Out on Division.”  With the help of her fans via Kickstarter.com, it may end up being her finest work to date, which is saying a lot.

Kristen reveals the inside story of her newest effort, and how having a brand new baby daughter has shaped her songwriting, and what it was like to share the stage with rock legend, Roger Daltrey.

Also this week, I catch up with Synergia Northwest Creative Director and Producer, Michael McMorrow. Not only is Michael the driving force of Synergia Northwest, he’s an accomplished musician and songwriter. Michael and the band Stolen Ogre have produced some amazing music. The group features Blues Traveler’s Brendan Hill and John Popper, both of whom participated in Synergia 2011.

Michael has an update on the Synergia Northwest Music Matters “Live” concert taking place May 12th at The Paramount Theater. Proceeds benefit Music Matters. 

Music Matters License plates are now available for purchase. You can read all about it and find out how to purchase one by clicking below.

Music Matters license plates available January 3rd

The third guest is Northwest radio veteran, John Maynard. For years John was a mainstay in the morning on KISW, as half of the popular radio duo, Robin and Maynard. John has been keeping very busy producing a fun little feature, Record Bin Roulette, which you  can hear on KPLU. Get a taste of RBR and more on this week’s SMI Radio!

You can hear SMI Radio every week…

  • Thursday evening a@ 7:00pm (PST) / 10:00pm (EST) on:  NWCZ Radio 
  • Saturday morning @9:00am (PST) / 11:00am (EST) on:  Night Out / Wave Radio 
  • Saturday evening  @11:00pm (EST) / 8:00pm (PST) and 3:00am (EST) / midnight (PST) on: Philadelphia’s  SRocks.com 

 

Not only is he a multi-media journalist, he is also an accomplished musician. He is the founder of SMI and drives the creative look, feel and branding for the publication. His years of writing, arranging, and performing live music in a variety of genres inform his ability to communicate the message and the mechanics of music. Roth’s work on SMI reflects his philosophy that music is the universal language, and builds community. He believes it has the power to unite people of every race, religion, gender, and persuasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *