Epica To Perform at Studio 7

Epica at Studio 7 (Photo: Nuclear Blast Records)

Dutch symphonic metal band Epica will perform at Studio 7 Seattle on November 16, 2016. Formed in 2002 and currently consisting of Mark Jansen (guitar / vocals), Coen Jasen (keyboards), Simone Simons (lead vocals), Arien van Weesenbeek (drums), Isaac Delahaye (lead guitar) and Rob van der Loo (bass), Epica are currently signed to Nuclear Blast Records. The band is touring in support of their latest album, The Holographic Principle, which was released this past September.

Since their formation a decade ago, the band has released a total of seven studio albums. Their sound primarily consists of large symphonic sounds, loud and heavy riffing, operatic style vocals (Simons), and heavy growls (Mark Jansen). Epica often describes their sound as being symphonic death metal. Epica’s sound is often described as being epic (makes sense), grand, and majestic, and they utilize choirs and orchestras as they compose and record their material and signature sound. Their songs largely deal with philosophical topics, including science, politics, society, culture, history, religion, and world events.

Opening each night of the tour are support acts Fleshgod Apocalypse, Arkona and The Agonist.

Tickets for this show can be purchased here.